Marsyas

album new web

This drawing was commissioned by the Jazz musician and composer (and sculptor) Marcus Vergette and is intended for an album or CD cover.  The music was inspired by the remarkable Titian painting, ‘The Flaying of Marsyas’, which has long fascinated Marcus. He came to my studio and showed me a number of abstract drawings he had made from the painting which date back to his college days. I persuaded him to make another one in ink. The image above is a reworking of this. For reasons I don’t understand I am especially pleased with it.

 

04.05.2017 The music has arrived in the post.  The cropping of my image is a little harsh perhaps, and my name is misspelt on the back, just to stop me becoming too pleased with myself. but hey, it’s my artwork on an album cover, I’ve always wanted to do one and I think it looks pretty good. I am very happy.CD cover

Leave a Reply

