With These Eyes

I have seen sandwiches and their wrappings

On the roofs of moving cars,

Beacons of forgetfulness.

 

I have seen brightly coloured swatches of evening dresses

Caught in the doors of moving cars

Rippling like low flags.

 

I have seen loose dentures

Of a sleeping old lady

Moving independently of her jaw.

 

Once, I saw my girlfriend’s sister’s vagina when euphoric twirling

Made her skirt rise and she was not wearing underwear.

I said, “I saw your vagina”, and was asked to leave.

 

I have entered cubicles

An found shocking brown truth

Of other peoples’ turds.

 

I once saw a man,

Worse for drink,

Urinate on his own dog.

 

And once I noticed a conjuror’s

Absurd plastic thumb,

Which, oddly, no one else saw.

 

2003

Leave a Reply

